Dear Wheelie–26 weeks

Dear Wheelie

I know that the stereotype is that the second child often has less individualized attention, etc than the first child, but I do feel bad that it’s been 11 weeks since I wrote you a letter.

First things first…you are still, several ultrasounds later, a girl.  I will confess to being surprised to have a wrong hunch (and who knows why since I thought your sister was a boy, too and was wrong, too), and that I needed a few days to adjust to the idea of having another girl.  However, at various points in the pregnancy prior to learning your sex, I had strongly wanted a second girl (as I’m a girl I feel more equipped to deal with girls, and already having a girl also makes me feel a little less lost on this whole parenting thing).  To be completely candid…my wanting a boy had a lot more to do with wanting to buy a completely new wardrobe for the baby, whereas you’ll end up in a lot of hand me downs (sorry, I shopped like a maniac for your sister, and your dad is grumpy at the number of things E has that she wore 1-2 times only–on the other hand, when we move back to the US, you’ll need entirely new clothes to deal with seasons your sister never did, so eventually it will all even out, I promise).

We did a number of additional test on you to make sure you were healthy.  No need to go into the name of each of them, but you passed every single assessment with flying colors.  You look completely healthy, you’re growing exactly on the curve for your gestational age (with diabetics, too big is the worry, and of course too small is also always a concern).  As of a few days ago, you were estimated to weigh about 1 kilo or 2lbs 2oz.  You have moved into a head down position (which explains the sudden onset of hearburn and the changed placement of your kicks), and the placenta is in a good position.

In other words, we are ready to get down to business in about 12 weeks.  Currently your birthday is going to be Nov 4th or Nov 8th.  Your sister is November 3rd…I’m sorry.  I’ll do my best to avoid you two sharing a birthday, but I can’t make a ton of promises.  I’m at risk for a few scary-ish conditions that may mean an earlier b-day, but let’s keep our fingers crossed to get to Nov 4/8th.

I am eager for this pregnancy to be over (but not so eager that I want you arriving early, little girl!).  It has been in many ways, a much rougher pregnancy that your elder sister’s was.  By this point in her pregnancy, my medication regimen was working and I mostly felt fine (at least until the third trimester exhaustion and hip pain kicked in).  With yours, the nausea and vomiting have been significantly worse, and have required more medical intervention.  All I care about though, is that you’ve remained healthy, which you have.

The very ironic punch line to all this vomiting and nausea is that unlike with Elanor’s pregnancy, yours has been awesome with regards to my diabetes.  I haven’t needed insulin in months.  Everyone is kind of baffled by this, but since my numbers all look good, we’re all just kind of going with it.

I first began to feel you kick around 18 weeks…a small bit of movement here or there.  I was about 20 weeks when I could predictably feel you on a daily basis.  Your dad first felt you kick at 23 weeks and your sister at 24.  You’ve been a very active baby–you object to my laptop’s imposition on my lap, you object to your sister sitting on me, eating makes me nauseous and makes you dance.  You are often very active around 2/3 am, which I hope is an early sign that you have inherited the family predilection towards being a night owl.

Your ya-ya and I moved the crib into your Dad and my room a few days ago.  I haven’t put the mobile together, and we need to wash the sheets (and I need a metric ton of batteries) but we are just about ready for you.  I also got the old bucket seat (hopefully we’ll be able to bring the new one home), the car seat, the swing, the bouncy seat and the pack n play out and ready to go (minus the 8 zillion batteries).  I have a ton of clothes for you in the US (as well as some hand me downs from your sister) that I’ll bring back home, and then we should be ready for you with a few weeks to spare.

We don’t have a name for you, yet.  I had a name I really loved that your dad didn’t like much, and he has a name that I’m not wild about as a first name.  We both keep looking at the list and wonder if maybe we shouldn’t just let the three year old name you.  You wouldn’t mind growing up with a name like Elmo, right?  What could possibly go wrong?  Don’t worry, I promise you that you won’t end up with the name of a Disney Princess, no matter how much your sister loves Ariel.

The OB tried to get a 3D picture of your face a few days ago, but you kept putting your hands up in front of it, as if to say “Mooooom!  Get out of my roooooom!  Leave me ALONE!”

I’m so excited to meet you, sweetie.  You are already a special and unique child, and your Daddy and I (and your big sister) are all so excited to meet you.

In fact, when I got some IV fluid therapy a few weeks ago, your sister and ya-ya came to get me, and Ellie walked in and asked where you were.  She was less than thrilled to hear you were still growing in my uterus.

Keep doing what you’re doing–growing strong and healthy.

I love you so much, munchkin.

Love,

Mommy

 

This entry was posted in Letters to Wheelie. Bookmark the permalink.