Where I’ve been

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted here.  It’s been all I could manage to keep Expat Bostonians up and running.  I also can only write so many posts about vomiting, and that’s pretty much been my life since April/May.  And I have this other kid who wants attention.

What’s been up?

1-My breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Hyperemsis Gravida.  It’s fun.  I’ve also almost completely exhausted all my medical options, and am facing hospitalization if things get worse…or at the very least regular IV therapy.  I’ve yet to gain an ounce with this damn pregnancy, and it is a total mind-fuck to realize I’ve spent literally thousands of dollars trying to not lose weight/minimize my weight loss when not pregnant it would be good for me to drop 50+ lbs.  I am, for the record, something like 8-10 pounds lighter than I was 25 1/2 weeks ago.  I am not happy about this.

2-Wheels is closing in on a name.  Or, at least, we are down to 11 potential names.  No clue.  We have no consensus, no favored name, nothing.  But by process of elimination I think we’ll get there, and babygirl will not actually end up being what we put on her passport.

3-Ellie is getting her neuropsychological development in September.  This is the final hurdle to her leaving the regular care of the pediatric stroke team.  Big cheers all around.

4-Ellie continues to blossom at school.  Most recently she was able to correctly count pick 3 items out of group of 6 when asked to do so with no support from her teachers.  I’m ridiculously proud of this.

5-Wheelie is growing just fine and thriving, despite my inability to take in any sort of nutrition.

6-My diabetes is totally controlled without medication at the moment. That I can’t keep food down is more than a contributing factor.  Would much rather be giving myself regular injections and keeping food down and gaining.  Although, a major highlight of my pregnant/adult life was the moment my endocrinologist looked at me and called me “underweight.”

7-We are heading home for a short trip between my 28th and 32nd week of pregnancy.  Once I hit 32 weeks I’m not allowed to leave Singapore.  There is much Target and BRU in my future.

8-I am SO MUCH more laid back with this pregnancy.  Part of it is that I just don’t have the energy to be neurotic, and part of it is that I know that all the books in the world will not actually tell me what to do with Wheelie once she’s here.  Her personality will drive our parenting style.  Elanor’s reactions will help steer the boat of sibling relationships.  I’ll breastfeed, or I won’t.  It will be okay.  Wheelie will be okay.  It’s a huge change from the last time.

9-Perhaps I should call this 8B.  While I’m more laid back about the pregnancy, I’m also just so worn out.  This pregnancy has been so much worse than Elanor’s in terms of the nausea, motion sickness and vomiting.  My spirits are often quite low.  I am far more stressed out about how the pregnancy is affecting E’s life.  She gets far less time with me, I almost never leave the house, and what time we do have is generally spent in bed watching Disney cartoon because it’s all I have the energy for.  I will be SO happy when Wheelie is born.  I absolutely hate pregnancy.

10–here’s a picture of me, the older daughter, and the bump.

This entry was posted in Breastfeeding, Depression, Education, Elanor, General stuff, Medical, Non-Procreational Life, Parenting Theories, Pictures, Pregnancy, Siblings. Bookmark the permalink.