Off to Phuket!

I’m writing this post just under 8 hours before I get in a cab with my in-laws, Ravi, Elanor, B and 5 suitcases to head to the airport.  We’re flying to Phuket at 8:30am and should get there at 9:45am local time (as they’re an hour behind us, a two hour flight is accomplished in one hour of clock time).

Since it is “only” a two hour flight and as we are paying for B’s airfare and room, we decided that E would be fine in lap…anyone want to start a betting pool on how long it will take me to regret that decision?  One the plus side, it is a two hour flight, which means 2 episodes of Sesame Street on the iPod…there is a good chance she’ll just sit and watch happily.  On the other hand, this could end up being two hours of gritting my teeth as she clings to me like a burr.  Or, on the other plus side, if she kicks the seat in front of her, at least it’s just her grandparent.

Regardless, I’ll be away until Saturday the 14th–I will try to post here, but am unsure how much I’ll be able to.  I have scheduled posts for Mon-Wed over at Expat Bostonians, so you will at least have reading material there for a few days 🙂

This entry was posted in Traveling with Elanor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Off to Phuket!

  1. Saffy says:

    Happy holiday. Ah that sounds like bliss – minus the cute kidlet on your laps bit 😉
    Love the new header.

  2. Anne says:

    We’re off to Australia soon. Matteo will be on our laps – well, when we’re not taking off or landing I imagine he’ll want to be on the floor. We debated for a while whether to book his own seat, but my husband (and, since then, several others) said ‘he’s not going to stay in it anyway’. Hope you have a great trip!

  3. Crystal says:

    Anne–how long is your flight?

    I found that with E in her carseat, she stayed put and slept far more easily. But that was also 36 hours of travel, 22 of it in the air…and it’s E’s personality. She does better when contained in her own space, but there are plenty of kids who hate that and cry all the more. It’s hard to predict your kid’s air temperment, even from month to month. E cried for the first time during a descent in her life on the way home from Phuket (which was something like the 18th airplane descent of her life). But even if she weren’t hitting the land of “two” in November, this would be the last time I ever fly with her in lap, period. I’d rather skip a trip in October than put her in lap again (although we’re likely to pass on the Oct trip for financial reasons, so that’s easy for me to say).

Comments are closed.