First call to Poison Control—a moment for the baby book…

“Daddy kicked you out of the bedroom?” I ask absently as I see Elanor wander up to the gate that separates the kitchen from the living/dining room.

She comes up and shakes the gate.

I glance up and give her a smile until I see her drooling some white out of her mouth.  My mind goes through everything that could cause that and draws a blank.  Then I see a white pill appear between her lips.

I fling the gate open and practically dive for her while calling for Ravi, who sound irritated that I’m bothering him post Elanor-banishment.  At first I think she has swallowed the pill, but Ravi finds it on the floor.  Then I start frantically tearing through the bedroom trying to figure out what she had swallowed-we each take a variety of meds.  I figure out that somehow she got some Naproxen (which is a mild painkiller Ravi takes for shoulder pain) even though I couldn’t find any bottle open.  The pills matched in size and I could make out the branding when I compared the two.

I call poison control and am relieved to hear it’s not a BIG deal that requires an ER visit even with the single kidney.  We were told to give her a small snack now and then fluid throughout the day.  The only thing to watch out for is a very rare reaction of a skin rash, which would mean an immediate trip to the ER.  The woman I talked to was able to give me important information in a quick and calm manner.  When I shared that E has a single kidney, she immediately was able to talk about the nephrotoxicity of naproxen.  Thanks, Kathy!

I don’t want to downplay the seriousness of needing to call Poison Control, but the truth is that its a rare parent who makes it through early childhood without a phone call there.  I just figured our first call would be for Windex or something.

What’s most interesting about this whole experience is that if she had gotten the Naproxen on my watch, I would have beaten myself up something insane.  Because it happened on Ravi’s, I was able to see that it wasn’t HIS fault-it was one of those things.  I never could have gotten that perspective on mine.  Even knowing that, it’s hard for me to have perspective.

This entry was posted in Elanor, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First call to Poison Control—a moment for the baby book…

  1. saffy says:

    OH HON!!! That takes the cake over the previous day’s events…. may your weekend be much calmer (and have more sleep)

  2. saffy says:

    PS: Just looking at your Twitter feed – my first degree (and love!) was History too 🙂

  3. Christie says:

    Yep, and the chances of having to call don’t really go away as they get older, either! My two calls have been –
    1) One child accidentally broke a flourescent tube light and white dust floated out. I didn’t think of it at the time, but the next day he had respiratory symptoms so I called. Turns out it was just a coincidence and he had come down with a cold.

    2) My kids, age 6 and 10, were sent into the laundry room to get something, at my parents’ house. They saw a random cup sitting there, with liquid in it. One took a swallow of the liquid (WTF??) then didn’t warn the other, who also took a swallow!! It was liquid clothes washing detergent. They then ran to me – “we drank something thinking it was water but it wasn’t…”. Aaargh!!! We called poison control, and they had all the info. It was fine, luckily.

Comments are closed.