Happy New Year!

Happy New Year friends!

I’ve thought about these a lot and I want to make the following parenting resolutions (I have other non parenting ones, but I didn’t feel like sharing them here)

1-To remember to take joy in my daughter every day.  Sometimes I get so caught up in her medical stuff or how exasperating she can be with her toddler tantrums or waste energy on being stressed because I cleaned and now the living room is ruined again that I forget to stop and look at how much wonder she has, her sheer joy in the world, and how much she loves me.

2-To tell my daughter every day that I love her.  Not that I think I’ve ever gone a day without telling her I love her, but it’s something I want to continue.

3-To continue to expose her to a wide variety of “differences”–different foods, different cultures, different religions, and different ways of looking at the world.

4-To grit my teeth and let her fall, get bruises and get scrapes.  I identify as a free-range parent, and while right now that certainly doesn’t mean letting her be unsupervised, it DOES mean letting her fall, letting her eat some dirt, letting her experience an “ouch” in the name of learning.

5-To make an effort every day to teach my daughter, but not to get so wrapped up in it that she loses her love of learning.

6-To see her as Elanor and not her medical drama/developmental milestones/etc

7-To know when to listen to a doctor and when to go with my gut

8-To not compare her to other kids

9-To not worry so much about what other people think of me as a parent

10-To have more faith in myself as a mom

and as a bonus—To remember that I’m not just a mom, but a person who has interests beyond parenting.

This entry was posted in Parenting Theories. Bookmark the permalink.