Elanor’s new funny

I promise a real post (and the getting more overdue by the second 13 month letter to Emby) in the near future, but for now I will share with you one of Elanor’s new quirks.

This past Monday Elanor was toddling around the living/dining room causing destruction as she does, when she went to her highchair, smacked it a few times and announced “YUM.”

When kids are first starting to babble, you convince yourself daily that they’ve just said “Please pass the peas, Mother” or some such thing.  So I doubted that I had heard what I actually did.  Or that it was pure happenstance, and would not be repeated.

“YUM” a little louder with a whack on the chair for emphasis.

“Are you hungry, Elanor?  Do you want food?” I asked.

“YUM.  YUM!”  Translation-are you stupid, woman?  What about this is unclear to you?  Feed me NOW, bitch.

And so it began.  We were driving home from a doctor’s appointment yesterday and there was a steady stream of “YUM?  YUM.  YUM!” from the backseat as we drove to a restaurant.  It is now a “thing” and she’s been doing it consistently.

It’s just so damn cute, I can’t help but encourage it.  I’ve started asking if she wants “YUM” instead of asking if she’s hungry now.

This entry was posted in Elanor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elanor’s new funny

  1. saffy says:

    That IS cute – and love your interpretation of ‘hurry up’ hehehe 🙂

Comments are closed.