pediatric waiting rooms…

I wondered if I was in the wrong office suite.  Beige carpet, blue adult sized chairs, some thumbed through out of date magazines…

Wasn’t I supposed to be in a pediatrician’s office?

My husband and I sat down with the other expectant parents in a circle and received HIGHLY REGARDED PEDIATRICIAN’S folder of information about the practice, complete with medical forms that assumed we’d want our darling child to be seen there.

I raised my hand, thinking I had missed something…was there a secondary waiting room? “Where are the toys?”

HIGHLY REGARDED PEDIATRICIAN looked down his nose at me.  “Toys spread germs.  We don’t have them for the safety of the children.”

It was right then that I decided I could do with a little less safety, and that my child would not be seen by HIGHLY REGARDED PEDIATRICIAN.

Elanor got her flu shot (although not the H1N1 shot as it wasn’t available at the time) a few weeks ago.  As the flu shot contains egg, and E is presumed to have an egg allergy, we had to hang out in the waiting room for 10 minutes post-shot to make sure she didn’t have an adverse reaction.  For the first time since I crossed HIGHLY REGARDED PEDIATRICIAN off my list, I thought about them, and how much it would have sucked had we been patients there…10 minutes of entertaining E with…what?…a dirty nipple and a spare diaper that I turned into a puppet?  No, the battered plastic toys and giant aquarium were a much better option, as were the giant painted children’s icons adorning the room.

And, for what it’s worth…our pediatrician kicks HRP’s ass in every other way that matters, too.  She takes time to answer questions, no matter how silly they sound coming out of my mouth, knows and remembers E’s case, makes a point of talking to E’s other docs, and is up to date on things like international shot requirements.  Just thought I’d mention that in case anyone thought we picked her solely on quality of waiting room…

But the huge aquarium of fish doesn’t hurt…

This entry was posted in Elanor, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.