Houston, we have a food allergy…

I realize I haven’t been great about consistently blogging here.  There are so many things I want to share or talk about, and often I just don’t have the energy to put my thoughts into the pretty words and sentences and OMG paragraphs, that when I sit down with my laptop, I just stare at it and rather than write my own blog, I’ll just read other people’s blogs.

This past week Elanor was diagnosed with a milk allergy.  I’ve chosen to try to go dairy free so that I can continue to give her breast milk at least until 6 months of age (which is about 8 weeks from now).  It was a genuinely tough decision and each day I’m dairy free I’ve found another thing I can’t have.  For example French Fries–I mean WTF, who knew French Fries had dairy in them?!  Even foods that are dairy free, like potato pancakes are out if they’re cooked in the same fryolater as something that contains dairy.  And seriously, can we not even talk about the chocolate…yes there’s dairy free chocolate, but I can’t have Reeses Peanut Butter Cups or the molten chocolate cake that I adore.  Whine whine whine.

So why bother doing it?  Because I can’t give up on the hope of getting E to breast just yet.  Because I know how much getting my milk as opposed to formula has helped her when she was desperately ill, and how much it has helped her recovery.  Those antibodies were critical for her.

To help her get better faster, I’ve been pumping and freezing my milk for the past two days.  It takes 3 days for the dairy to clear my body.  She’s been doing so much better today than she has in months with her eating, which creates two separate reactions.  The first is pure joy for her and pride in her eating.  The second is sadness because it feels like she’s doing better on the formula than she was on my milk.

This entry was posted in Breastfeeding, Elanor. Bookmark the permalink.