It takes a village to feed my child

There are things I swore I’d never do before I had Elanor.

I have crossed so many of those boundaries, and eaten so much crow I almost want to go back and delete a bunch of posts…but I won’t.

Something I used to view as extreme was the idea of donor milk.  I said if I had low milk supply (which sadly, I do…I make 16 oz a day and that’s with all the herbs and galactalogues and lactation cookies and voodoo dolls and such) I would just make up the difference with formula.  Period.

Ahem.

So my best friend had a son two days after I had E.  She has enough supply that she makes 2-4 oz extra day.

One day I began to bitch about my supply and how part of me just hates making those fucking 1/2 and 1/2 bottles because E HATES straight formula.

A offered me some of her spare milk as her son is refusing bottles and she was just stockpiling.

A is a very close friend.  She was a maid of honor at my wedding.  I *KNOW* her.

I don’t know that I’d take stranger’s milk, but A’s?  No question.

Now Elanor recieves my milk, A’s milk, and a few times a week, a 1/2 and 1/2 bottle (which is theoretically good for her teeth because the water that I mix in has fluoride in it).

It humbles me that I have friends who are willing to give of themselves, literally, to help my daughter.

This entry was posted in Breastfeeding, Elanor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It takes a village to feed my child

  1. Rachel M. says:

    That is so cool! I hadn’t given much thought to donor milk as an option. I’m glad this is working out for you. My baby doesn’t seem to care if she gets formula or breast milk so even though I only produce about 20 – 25oz per day it’s okay to top her off with formula. My supply has been going down lately because she’s starting to ween herself. I’m trying to push it until she turns 8 months old.

  2. Taking a Chance on Baby says:

    She’s self weaning at 7 months? Wow. I hadn’t even thought about that.

Comments are closed.