History

Many years from now, I’ll be able to tell Elanor that she witnessed the beginning of the Obama years.  She sat in her Bumbo between her parents, both of whom were tearing up as we watched the first person of color take the oath of office of the President.

My daughter is biracial, and when she goes looking for role models that are like her, I’m proud that she’ll have Obama to look up to.  She will never wonder if there will ever be a person of color in the highest office of the land.  She’ll take for granted that the color of her skin is not a bar to achievement.

I don’t think that Obama will solve all our problems, or even that I’ll agree with him all of the time.  But I am proud to call him my president, and Elanor’s.

This entry was posted in Non-Procreational Life, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.