Two Months

Elanor was two months old Saturday. It’s hard to believe that it hasn’t been longer or shorter. On one hand, my life before E feels really distant from where I am now; that it must have been more than three months. On the other, it’s shocking that she’s two months old already-wasn’t she JUST born?!

I can also claim two months of breast milk giving my daughter nutrition. Sure there’s been the 1/2 and 1/2 bottle here or the occasional bottle of formula there, but I can claim that the majority of her nutrition and weight gain is thanks to my breasts. I’m two-thirds of the way to my original goal of 3 months, and that’s something to celebrate. I’m praying that we can soon start breast feeding…she is down to the 22 calories per ounce, so that’s pretty minimal supplemental calories.

Elanor is lifting her head, batting at objects, and vocalizing. She usually has one 5 hour stretch of sleep…not at night, but hey, a 5 hour stretch is a 5 hour stretch. She just, this week, grew out of the newborn Carter’s stuff and is now wearing the 0-3 month stuff, much to my dismay.

This entry was posted in Elanor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Months

  1. Jenn says:

    Hugs! You’ve really had a rough road, haven’t you?

    My 5th baby was born on Oct 29, so she’s just a few days older than your daughter. She was 6 lb 3 oz at birth though, so your daughter might just be bigger!

    I really would encourage you, if you can, don’t “allow” your daughter to sleep a 5 hour patch in the daytime if you want her to sleep at night. I know some babies wouldn’t wake if a train went through, so don’t feel guilty if you have one of those, but if you can wake her, do it.

    Also, has no one suggested a supplemental nursing system so that you can attempt to give the formula supplement at the breast? You can use it for pumped milk as well–it makes it a bit easier for the baby to get the milk, and thus encourages her to latch. I can’t imagine pumping & bottle feeding all the time (though I did “work & pump” with my first four kids), as it must be SO much work–kudos to you for sticking it out!

  2. Taking a Chance on Baby says:

    Hi Jenn

    I’ll be posting about this shortly, but we just got the green light to stop supplementing, which means we can finally begin to develop a solid breastfeeding relationship. Our LC comes on Saturday and I am filled with hope.

    I have heard of SNS’s, and am certainly open to using one. Our LC will be bringing one. We didn’t try it before because she had only just begun to “get” nursing when she got so sick.

    Elanor is a sound sleeper who will rouse briefly and then go right back to sleep. Luckily she seems to be sorting herself out. We’re also working on routines, which seems to be helping as well.

Comments are closed.