Frightened

I’m frightened.

My daughter may have profound hearing loss. The very things that saved her life may have taken her hearing as the price. She doesn’t acknowledge sound…any sound.

She’s being evaluated on January 8th. I only wish it were tomorrow.

I can accept and move forward regardless of the results. I just want them.

The “worst” case is that she is deaf. If that is the case, I want to know what to do to help her develop and reach her full potential. I’ve started researching and I’ve ordered a solid baby sign program that’s based off of ASL on the presumption that even without hearing loss she can benefit from learning some signs, and if she is deaf we’ll progress to ASL so having baseline signs in that language would be a good baseline.

This entry was posted in Elanor, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frightened

  1. Mary says:

    The son of a good friend of mine was born in March 2007 with profound hearing loss. Although it was a shock initially, they overcame it quickly and adjusted. They got him in Early Intervention programs (free in our state) and had surgery when he was 1 to give him implants. He is thriving, signing many things and beginning to verbalize. I am more than happy to connect the two of you……

    All my best as you await the Jan 8 testing…..

  2. Adriane says:

    I can’t remember how I came across your website, but I saw this post and had to reply.
    I am 19 and I was diagnosed with moderate hearing loss when I was 2. My parents aren’t sure what caused it, or if I was born with it.
    I just wanted to let you know that you will have plenty of options if your baby has a hearing loss. depending on how severe it is, there are hearing aids and cochlear implants, and I’m sure many other things in this day and age. The sign language is a great idea, since I myself have never had the motivation to learn, functioning with hearing aids since I was 3.

    If it turns that your daughter does have a hearing loss, don’t be afraid to explore the different options available. If you have any questions that are not doctor- oriented, feel free to ask!

Comments are closed.