Because 2 sick people in our family wasn’t enough (CarePages Update)

You know how Elanor is sick, and Ravi got sick…and I was still healthy?

Yeah, not so much anymore.

I somehow managed to catch Ravi’s gastroenteritis (sp?) and then one-upped him by needed to go to the Emergency Room at midnight last night. As of 8pm today, I’m in an observation room. I’m free to go in about an hour or two, but that’s after 7 bags of fluids, multiple doses of zofran and reglan and a CT scan to rule out a blood clot (I didn’t have one). I’m still not in great shape (gastroenteritis being a really nasty stomach bug) but I’m in better shape than I was at this point last night.

Luckily for us, they decided not to release Elanor today, for which we were grateful. Ravi is feeling a lot better but is not a 100% and was really torn about the idea of his wife being in the hospital and trying to take care of his daughter at home.

Elanor is fine…the doctor lowered her blood pressure medication and wanted to monitor how she did on the lower dose (well, that, plus hearing that we were both sick made them want to keep an eye on her for an extra day to make sure she didn’t come down with our stomach bug). They also had some trouble with getting her a blood pressure cuff for home and her medication is pretty complicated as it has to be made into liquid form and only a few pharmacies do that. She should go home tomorrow, assuming her blood pressure stays where it’s been.

If I may be allowed to boast, our little champ had several successful breastfeeding sessions yesterday! Today she’s eating close to 3 ounces with every meal…we’re so proud!

I can’t wait to take her home, even if I am a little nervous. At least this time I know a lot more of what to look for, and being a little over reactive right now, I’d rather take her to the doctor more than she needs. I never want to go through this again.

I had meant to do the “Thankful” thing yesterday, but I don’t think anyone here would be hard pressed to guess what we are thankful for. We came so close to losing our little girl (when I came to the emergency room, they had to wheel me past the pediatric ER and the Acute ER, the latter of the two being where we witnessed the really scary stuff and it was hard not to burst into tears because I couldn’t stop the flood of memories from that room) and we are just so lucky that she is a fighter. She is healthy, happy, smart, and in our eyes (just like every baby is in their parent’s eyes) just perfect.

We’re also thankful for all of you. Your support over the past three weeks has been invaluable and we’re lucky to have you as our friends and family.

Hopefully we will only have one or two more updates on this care page. And that’s something to be thankful for.

jQuery(document).ready(function(){

})

This entry was posted in Elanor's Hospital Stay, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.