Dear Emby…33 weeks

Dear Emby

Your 33rd week in utero was a tough one for Mommy.  Daddy went to a work related conference in Canada, over 3000 miles away, and Mommy was more than a little scrared that you would decide to be born while he was gone.  THANK YOU so much for electing to stay where it is warm and comfy and food and air are delivered like room service.

As you’ll discover, Mommy and Daddy are very close, so week long separations aren’t very easy for them.  Mommy took a lot of late afternoon/early evening naps so she could stay up late to talk with Daddy after his day was over.  As a result, we had some ketone issues between Mommy’s erratic eating and sleeping schedule, and one unfortunate incident where you decided that you didn’t like me eating peanut butter toast, and made me throw up on myself.  Thanks–that was–charming.

It was a busy week for Mommy’s doctors.  She saw her nutritionist and we talked about how my diet will change to reflect nursing you.  I may be the only pregnant woman she’s ever met that whined about having to eat MORE carbs.  I’m already struggling to eat the designated 180 a day for pregnancy-adding another 30 carbs is not an easy task for me.  I also saw my allergist and we talked about Mommy going back on allergy shots when you’re born-which you’ll be grateful for, otherwise Mommy will be a zombie around your 6th month of life for pretty much the whole month.  We also talked about food allergies and your risk factors for them-considering how much peanuts and peanut butter have figured heavily into my pregnancy diet, if there is going to be an issue, it’s probably too late to do anything about it.  The thing is that I think the problem of food allergies is overstated and is the new thing to be totally FREAKED OUT over for parents.  We’ll see what happens and if there is an issue, we’ll deal with it.  I met a pediatrician that you will not be going to, and that was frustrating.  Finally we had our weekly ATU appointment and all looked good.

Your great aunt stayed with me a few days to help me clean and organize the apartment for the baby shower the day that Daddy came home.  Your Dada and Dadi came over and finished putting together IKEA furniture (bureaus for Mommy and Daddy) over the weekend.  And because of all that, Mommy was able to get into the nursery and get a LOT done.  All that’s left to do in there is to buy my glider (which we’re doing this weekend) and pick out your crib (which isn’t a huge deal since you won’t be sleeping there for quite some time).

On Sunday, your Daddy arrived home and your Auntie K threw us a baby shower with all our friends.  It was an awesome day, and so many people are excited to meet you.  I can’t wait to share the pictures with you when you’re older.  You have some very talented honorary aunts…one knitted you a blanket, and one knitted you a bunny lovey that we’ll have with us in the hospital when you arrive.  Your Uncle M and Auntie L also got you a GIANT Winnie the Pooh that will be bigger than you for years to come.  Mommy and Daddy are a little jealous–we LOVE the giant Pooh bear.

As I write this, I’m 34 weeks and 1 day pregnant, which is another way of saying 41 days to go (at most).

We love you

Mommy (and Daddy)

This entry was posted in Letters to Emby, Medical, Non-Procreational Life. Bookmark the permalink.