Dear Emby Week 29

Dear Emby

We are in the homestretch.  As I write this letter, I am 30 weeks and 1 day pregnant…which means you’ve got 69 days at most to cook in utero.

Last week was pretty miserable for me physically.  My anti-nausea meds haven’t been working so well for a few weeks, and by the end of the week they’d pretty much stopped working.  I was very grateful to get the dosage adjusted, and have been able to keep down food since Friday afternoon.  It’s not your fault, really, but do expect some amount of ribbing from me about how much I threw up while pregnant with you as you get older.

I got to see some friends last week.  I had a late lunch with my friend/boss J to talk about the curriculum I’m working on right now, and am hoping to have it written by the end of the month so I can get to work on the curriculum that will be due at the end of January.  I know you’re going to need my attention a LOT, so if I can do most of my work for the next four months before you’re born, it will allow me to get some breathing room.  I’m very lucky that I can do this…I feel bad for a lot of my fellow pregnant teachers who are teaching this year, and are getting up and going into school every day right now.  Your daddy has given us a huge gift in creating the savings necessary for me to be home this year, so writing curriculum is one of the things I can do from home to give back and help out.

Daddy and I saw another friend whose name begins with J that night, and enjoyed seeing his new apartment.  It’s definitely a single guy simple and gorgeous one bedroom, and I couldn’t help but compare it with the baby-ready home we’re trying to create.

I got to see A, who is also pregnant, and due on Mommy’s birthday (she has a good excuse to miss my party).  She helped me make you some tutus, which I just know you’ll be adorable in.  I hope you and her baby, the Peanut, are friends.  I realize that having parents who are friends means you’ll spend time together, but it doesn’t mean that you have to be friends.

On Saturday, Grandma threw me a baby shower.  It was a beautiful day, if a bit strained at times.  Your grandma and I have a difficult relationship at times (I pray ours is a less strained one, although I’m sure we’ll have our *stuff*).  You have so many people ready to welcome you into the world and who love you already, Emby.  I’m so happy to bring you into this world.

Finally, my friend S from NYC came up for the shower.  It was great to see her, and we enjoyed taking her to King Richard’s Faire (the state’s big Renaissance Faire, where I found you fairy wings!) and then on a Duck Tour on Sunday.  It was really cool to see the little kids drive the duck in the Charles River and your Daddy mentioned that we’ll have to bring you on a Duck Tour and let you drive a duck at some point when you’re growing up.  How cute would it be to see you do that?!

Well, you had quite the busy week, and there are now lots of pictures of you inside my belly.  I can’t wait to see you outside it.

Love

Mommy

This entry was posted in Letters to Emby, Non-Procreational Life, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.