The Great Birth Control Debate…

It occurred to the husband and I that we are soon going to need to start thinking about birth control.  This is a strange and slightly repellent realization.  Thank god it’s not an immediate issue for another few months yet.

But for fun and to get it all out there coherently for myself, let’s go through the options…

THE PILL

I have never done well with the pill.  Firstly, I’m terrible at remembering to do something everyday.  I imagine that the experience with pre-natals (although I do occasionally forget) and insulin (I’ve had to leave where I was and come home because I forgot it on more than one occasion) have helped me in this regard, but it’s still not something I think I’m all that reliable about.  Secondly, to be completely effective, you’re supposed to take it at the same time each day.  My life is not totally unpredictable, but neither is it totally routine either-I don’t eat dinner at the same time each day, nor do I go to bed at the same time each day, nor do I get up at the same time each day.  Thirdly, my depression has often been aggravated by the pill, and when coupled with my fear of post-partum depression, I feel like the worst thing I could do is go on something that could aggravate a pre-existing issue like depression.

THE SHOT

I loved the shot while I was on it.  I only had to remember to go to the doctor every 8 to 10 weeks to get a shot, and then I didn’t have to think about it.  However, it did make weight loss a bigger problem than it already is.  More recently an OB shared with me that it has proven to have an effect on bone density when taken over long periods of time, and when you couple that with my calcium deficiency from my lactose intolerance, it makes the shot a bad idea.

NUVA RING/ANYTHING THAT YOU STICK UP NEAR YOUR CERVIX

The issue I have with anything that requires placement near my cervix is that I have a long vaginal canal and, quite frankly, can’t reach my cervix.  I wish I were kidding, but I need the long speculum, and when doctors haven’t believed me, it meant I got to deal with the cold duck lips twice because wow, I can’t see your cervix using the regular sized ones.  Sigh.

IMPLANT

This is definitely something I want to research more in depth…I just don’t know if this is the right move right now.  It’s something I’ll talk over with my OB as well.

MIRENA OR OTHER IUD

This was never an option before because they generally require you to have had a child.  Again, something to research more and talk to the OB about.

SPERMICIDE

My body hates this stuff.  I always feel dry and itchy afterwards.  I’ll use it in a pinch, but not regularly.

CONDOMS

They are old reliable.  I have proven that I certain know how to use them-after all I managed not to get pregnant until I wanted to, and then I did so with ridiculous ease…twice.  I’m obviously doing something right.  On the down side, I hate how they feel.  I also hate how they interrupt the flow of things.  Also expensive after a while, although certainly not as expensive as raising an unplanned child or an extra college tuition.  Depending on how the conversation goes about IUDs and implants, these are the likeliest backup option, I suppose.

STERILIZATION

I want another kid after Emby, so this isn’t an option yet.  When we’re done, though, the husband and I have concluded that we’re more likely to go the vasectomy route than the tubal ligation one.  After all, it’s minor surgery for him and major for me.  But not an option until we’ve decided that we’re done (most likely one more child after Emby).

******************************************************************

I seriously just wish there was something the doctor could give me when I WANTED to get pregnant that would do so immediately and otherwise I didn’t have to worry about this shit, or my period, since we’re in dreamland.

This entry was posted in Birth Control, Medical. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Great Birth Control Debate…

  1. I suspect you may hate this idea, but have you looked into LAM (Lactation Amenorrhea Method)? Breastfeeding delays a return to fertility anyway. Yes, you can get pregnant while breastfeeding so you must know what you are doing. But I figure, why use birth control if you are not ovulating anyway?

  2. whenwillitbemyturn says:

    I appreciate your suggestion, but I’m ridiculously fertile and there’s no way I’m risking getting knocked up again. My first pregnancy we got pregnant the first month and with Emby it was the second month when my husband has pnuemonia.

  3. It’s as safe or safer than other methods.

  4. whenwillitbemyturn says:

    Still not even remotely on my list. According to the WHO, it’s only effective for six months and then the rates go up. Assuming you have the standard 6 week post-delivery ban on sex, that means it’s effective for the first 22 weeks that you can have sex, and then you need something else anyways.

    Why delay the inevitable?

    My post was mostly bitching that I hate bc in general. However, we take it seriously and will probably use an implant or condoms.

  5. evenshine says:

    I’m with you on the general yicky-ness of condoms. The implant thing (beneath the skin) has always freaked me out a little. See my blog for our Great Birth Control debate. I ended up with an IUD and LOVELOVELOVE. Good luck with the decision.

  6. jenniferandrews says:

    I’m not sure this may fit your lifestyle because it requires being consistent every day, but you may want to research FAM (easily confused with NFP and the rhythm method). Even if you don’t end up going that route, I highly suggest reading the book Taking Charge of Your Fertility, which advocates this method – used for birth control or conception, depending on your desires and how you use the method. The book explains a lot about fertility that I think most women are unaware of.

  7. Pingback: We’re going Mirena « Taking a chance on baby…

Comments are closed.