I’ve made an appointment

I finally made an appointment with a grief counselor. Part of me feels like this is yet another failing-my inability to deal with Hope’s loss, just as it was failure to have been unable to stay pregnant. But the more intellectual side knows I’ve struggled with depression since I was young, and that this is a major enough event that it’s only right that I need some help to get through it.

I just wish it weren’t so damn early in the morning.

I haven’t been sleeping well-I don’t remember the last time I went to bed before 3 am or, more accurately, to sleep before 3/4 in the morning. Which is the start of a vicious cycle wherein I need to sleep until noon so as not to be exhausted, but then am not tired at midnight.

Today I had to get up and begin functioning at 7:10 on about 3 1/2 hours of sleep. If I can survive the day (maybe with a one/two hour nap), hopefully I’ll collapse into bed at a decent hour tonight and begin to reset my internal clock.

I don’t think it’s just the wacky sleep schedule that’s driving this, though. I think I’d prefer to sleep away most of the day when things seem at their most real, when I have to interact with the greatest number of people. It’s much easier to be awake at 3 am when most people are asleep, the world is dark, and you can pretend that nothing exists outside the walls of your apartment.

This entry was posted in Miscarriage, Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.